The Japan Academy Film Prize Association for excellence in film revealed on Friday that the Evangelion: 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon A Time (Shin Evangelion Gekijō-ban :||) anime film acquired the Animation of the Year award at the forty fifth annual Japan Academy Film Prizes. The totally different nominees have been BELLE, Jujutsu Kaisen 0, Fortune Favors Lady Nikuko, and Sing a Bit of Harmony.

Mamoru Hosoda‘s BELLE (Ryū to Sobakasu no Hime) anime film acquired the Best Music award. The affiliation honored the film’s composers Ludvig Forssell, Taisei Iwasaki, and Yuta Bando.

Evangelion: 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon A Time moreover acquired the Popularity Award.

From live-action films of manga, the affiliation honored Tokyo Revengers Mio Imada and Honey Lemon Soda’s Ai Yoshikawa for Best New Actress, and What Did You Eat Yesterday?‘s Hayato Isomura for Best New Actor.

Producer Kyōko Ōbayashi, film art work lettering designer Toshiyuki Sasatake, and animator Sadao Tsukioka each acquired a Special Award from the Association for lifetime achievement.

The following acquired the Chairperson Award for lifetime achievement:

  • Mitsuko Kusabue (actor)
  • Natsuko Toda (film subtitler)
  • Teruyo Nogami (recording/Kurosawagumi manufacturing supervisor)
  • Masako Nozawa (voice actress)
  • Hanae Mori (costume design)
  • Tsutomu Yamazaki (actor)

The recipients of posthumous Special Awards from the Chairperson for lifetime achievement have been:

  • Yasuo Otsuka (animator)
  • Masato Hara (producer)
  • Kunie Tanaka (actor)
  • Sonny Chiba (actor)
  • Shin’ichirou Sawai (director, scriptwriter)
  • Tan Takaiwa (Toei and Toei Animation president and producer)
  • Emi Wada (costume design)

Kyoto Animation and Toei Animation acquired the Shigeru Okada Award for “producing high-quality films that combine entertainment and art with unique creativity and advanced technology.”

The Nippon Academy-Sho Association, a Japanese group roughly comparable to America’s Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Oscars fame, presents the Japan Academy Film Prizes yearly. The nominees all acquired “Awards of Excellence,” nevertheless the exact excessive award in each class was supplied in a ceremony on Friday at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo.

Movies are eligible in the occasion that they opened in Japan between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021.

The Animation of the Year class was solely created 15 years in the previous. Last 12 months, Demon Slayer – Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Movie: Mugen Train acquired the award. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Tekkonkinkreet, Ponyo, Summer Wars, The Secret World of Arrietty, From Up On Poppy Hill, Wolf Children, The Wind Rises, Stand By Me Doraemon, The Boy and The Beast, In This Corner of the World, Night is Short, Walk On Girl, Mirai, and Weathering With You have been the earlier winners. Before that, Studio Ghibli acquired the normal Picture of the Year Award for Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away.

Source: Japan Academy Film Prize Association’s website and Twitter account