Sentai Filmworks introduced on Thursday that it has licensed the unique tv anime Onipan! worldwide excluding Asia. HIDIVE will solely stream the anime for the spring 2022 season. Sentai Filmworks will launch the collection on dwelling video.

The anime will premiere in April, and stars:

  • Former Sakura Gakuin member Yume Nozaki because the curious crimson oni Tsutsuji (Japanese for “azalea”)
  • Ciao Girl 2019 contest winner Mika Negishi because the mischievous yellow oni Himawari (“sunflower”)
  • Former Sakura Gakuin member Kokona Nonaka because the seemingly aloof but slovenly Tsuyukusa (“dayflower”)
  • Kaori Maeda as Momozono-Momo
  • Miyu Tomita as Issun-Bōko
  • Kikuko Inoue as Kuma

Set in a world the place Japanese oni (demons) and people coexist, “the story of love, friendship, and underpants” follows three oni ladies who switch to a Tokyo center faculty. They try to enhance the misconstrued picture of oni with the assistance of a key merchandise with hidden powers — oni underpants, or onipan. Momozono-Momo and Issun-Bōko are teased as the kids of the well-known Japanese folklore characters Momotarō and Issun-Bōshi, respectively.

The anime comes from AAO Project, a joint initiative by AOI Pro., Amuse, and Origamix Partners, to develop and produce authentic mental property. Norihiro Naganuma, the director and head author of The Ancient Magus’ Bride anime, devised the unique story idea with Wit Studio and Shogakukan-Shueisha Productions because the collective Onipan! Project. tomari (My Friend’s Little Sister Has It In for Me!) drafted the unique onikko (demon woman) designs.

Masahiko Ohta (Yuruyuri) is directing the anime at Wit Studio with assistant director Jun’ichirō Hashiguchi, and Takashi Aoshima (Yuruyuri – Happy Go Lily, Mitsudomoe, Himouto! Umaruchan) is accountable for the collection scripts. Ryuuta Yanagi (Sword Art Online monster design) is serving as character designer and chief animation director, and Yasuhiro Misawa (Yuruyuri – Happy Go Lily, Mitsudomoe, Minami-ke) is composing the music.

The anime’s stars Yume Nozaki, Mika Negishi, and Kokona Nonaka are forming a brand new musical unit named “Onipanzu!,” and they’ll carry out the present’s theme track “Onipapapan! Pan!.”

Source: Sentai Filmworks