The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, introduced the winners of its 49th Annual Annie Awards on Saturday. No anime gained awards this 12 months.

The awards offered Studio Ghibli co-founder and government director Toshio Suzuki with the celebrated Winsor McCay Award alongside Ruben A. Aquino and Lillian Schwartz. The ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors choose the winners for “their exemplary industry careers.” Suzuki accepted the award in a subtitled video. He is the ninth Japanese particular person to win the award, with earlier recipients together with Hayao Miyazaki, Isao Takahata, Mamoru Oshii, Satoshi Kon, Katsuhiro Otomo, Kihachirō Kawamoto, Iwao Takamoto, and Osamu Tezuka.

Renzo Kinoshita and Sayoko Kinoshita, who based the Hiroshima International Animation Festival, have been honored with the June Foray Award for important and benevolent or charitable influence.

Mamoru Hosoda‘s BELLE, Ayumu Watanabe‘s Fortune Favors Lady Nikuko, Takayuki Hirao‘s Pompo: The Cinéphile, and Patrick Imbert’s The Summit of the Gods obtained nominations within the “Best Indie Feature” class, however Flee gained the award.

Hosoda’s BELLE additionally obtained nominations within the “Best Direction – Feature,” “Best FX – Feature,” “Best Production Design – Feature,” and “Best Writing – Feature” classes. The Mitchells vs. The Machines gained all 4 of those awards. Hosoda offered a number of awards at the occasion.

Youki Kojima and Yuta Bando‘s music for the Poupelle of Chimney Town movie was nominated for the “Best Music – Feature” class, however Encanto gained the award.

The Star Wars: Visions anime’s “The Duel” episode from Kamikaze Douga was nominated within the “Best TV/Media – General Audience” class, however Arcane gained the award.

The Stillwater present from Polygon Pictures was nominated within the “Best TV/Media – Preschool” class, however Ada Twist, Scientist gained the award.

Netflix‘s Castlevania was nominated for the “Best FX – TV/Media” class, however Arcane gained the award.

The Annie Awards acknowledge excellent achievement in animation. ASIFA-Hollywood added the Best Animated Independent Feature award for the 2016 awards as a way to “recognize not only features in wide release, but also the independent animators, international studios, anime and special productions that might not otherwise get the attention they deserve.” Mamoru Hosoda‘s Mirai movie gained the award in 2019.

No anime gained awards final 12 months.

Source: Annie Awards livestream